House 9 Hockey Foundation


The House 9 Hockey Foundation was established in 2008 as a not-for-profit organization with the goal of making the game of hockey more accessible to children, regardless of their financial circumstances. It pursues this mission by providing equipment and/or paying registration fees so that grant-eligible children can participate in minor hockey.
Operated by volunteers, the Foundation’s principal fund-raising events consist of a day that features live music entertainment, barbecue, and a charity hockey game between the ‘House 9 Stars’ and an area hockey team consisting of a mix of their current and alumni players.
House9 Stars to date have included: Justin Adbelkader, Colby Armstrong, Matt Beleskey, Mark Bell, Daniel Carcillo, David Clarkson, Trevor Daley, Aaron Downey, Kris Draper, Cory Emmerton, Darren Haydar, Kevin Kline, Mike Komisarek, Brad May, Thomas McCollum, Evan McGrath, Mike Mole, Chris Neil, Steve Ott, Kyle Quincey, Brendan Smith, Jamie Tardif, Scott Thornton and Mike Weber.
Funds are raised through private and corporate donations and sponsorships involving dozens of local organizations. Through these efforts, strengthened by assistance provided by the NHL Players Association (NHLPA), the Foundation enables children to enroll and participate in minor hockey.